Stamps of India were used in Singapore, Malacca, and Penang until after the three settlements were became the British colony of Straits Settlements in 1867. The first stamps imprinted Straits Settlements appeared later that year. Like most British colonies, they bore the portrait of Queen Victoria in profile. In 1879-82 they were followed by a series of Victoria stamps surcharged with mostly a 10c value in black. Many more surcharged stamps were issued 1883 through 1899. An island off the coast of Borneo called Labuan was added to Straits Settlements and used the same stamps until administrative control went to North Borneo. The colony was broken up when Singapore became a separate colony in 1946.
37 records.